SOUTHWARD | nach Süden       2018
90 digital photographs (color and b/w)
selection of 38 pictures
and texts

description
installation view
publication
southward   southward  

Greensboro, Hale County, Alabama, USA. A small town in western Alabama. Dixieland. A county like many others in the surrounding area. Rich in history and culture. However, there is also poverty. Rolling hills. Formerly cotton, today pine trees, cattle, catfish.

Donald Trump has been president for six months now. Hale county didn't vote for him. Here Afro-Americans are the majority. One can guess who voted for whom. The communities stay among themselves. They call it cultural segregation.

It is summer. The humid heat of the South lingers over the land. The camellia blossoms are over. The figs not yet ripe. Fireflies light up at dawn. The crickets' concert provides the sound of the night.

  southward

please scroll ››

continue

SOUTHWARD | nach Süden       2018
90 digitale Fotografien (Farbe und s/w)
Auswahl von 38 Bildern
und Texten aus dem Buchentwurf

Kurzbeschreibung
southward   southward  

Greensboro, Hale County, Alabama, USA. Ein kleines Städtchen im Westen Alabamas. Südstaaten. Ein County wie viele andere in der Umgebung. Doch auch ganz anders. Reich an Geschichte und Kultur. Aber es herrscht auch Armut. Sanfte Hügellandschaften. Einstmals Baumwollanbau, heute Forstwirtschaft, Weidewirtschaft, Catfisch-Zucht.

Donald Trump ist seit einem halben Jahr Präsident. Hale County hat nicht für ihn gestimmt. Hier sind die Afro-Amerikaner in der Mehrheit. Man ahnt, wer wen gewählt hat. Die Communitys bleiben unter sich. Sie kennen sich kaum. Kulturelle Segregation nennen sie das.

Es ist Sommer. Die feuchte Hitze der Südstaaten liegt über dem Land. Die Kamelien sind verblüht. Die Feigen noch nicht reif. In der Dämmerung leuchten die Glühwürmchen. Das laute Grillenkonzert sorgt für den Grundton der Nacht.

  southward

bitte scrollen ››

weiter